• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    tatsutsume
    Participant

Who are you?  Ask this question to anyone on the street and you they most likely will give you their name or occupation depending on what they are doing at the time.  In my communication lesson I am working on what is called “open questions” or questions that demand more than a yes or no answer.  Many of us when we hear this respond quite the same way; with our names or what we do.  Have you ever just sat down and asked yourself “Who am I?”  Most of us will still try to rationalize this and break it down into the various things we do.  For instance “I play guitar.  I do Tai Chi and Karate.  I am a Swordsman.  I am a Draftsman.  I am a Father and Husband.  I am a Teacher, in ways.”  Yes I am all these things but saying that is like saying “I am angry, I am hungry, I am sick or I am tired.”  I may be and do all those things in my life, but I am not constantly a Swordsman or Draftsman or Father or Husband, sometimes I am just a friend to my family, some one who listens and sympathizes with them when they hurt and rejoices with them when they succeed.  I am only a Draftsman or Swordsman when I am doing those things.  Just like I am only hungry when I haven’t eaten in a while or sick because of my body adjusting to the weather.  But who am I?  Look past all the things in your life to the very core of your being, what has made you do the things in life you do.  In fact, just completely strip them away until you are faced with just your true self.  Are you just all these things that you do and nothing more, or are you more that those things-unfathomable and unknowable.  This is put in meditation because it is something to meditate on, something your mind must be clear for so you can see it with out warped or twisted perceptions.  I ask this so that you can truly be able to trust yourself, for how can you trust yourself if you do not know who you are?

Tai-Da