• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Daizan
    Participant

So yeah, the introduction thing.

Name’s Rodney, most folks online call me rev (lowercase is required ;) ) or the rev. My ordainment is through the Universal Life Church and the Church of Spiritual Humanism. Some of you might remember me from a brief time at JRA. Jax and Pyro know me from many long IM sessions.

I’ve trained in martial arts for 16 years, developing a personal style rooted physically in muay Thai along with few other things I’ve picked up over the years from sparring with other stylists, and philosophically rooted in the theory of Jeet Kune Do. I’ve also developed a personal sword form (rooted in Kendo) tested in countless full-contact sparring matches against single and multiple opponents.

I’m a practicing Zen Buddhist. For ten years I studied alone. Recently I’ve been studying with a Soto Zen sangha and supplementing that experience with the study of Master Hsing Yun’s Buddhist Humanism, the ideas of progressive Buddhism, and the teachings of Suzuki Shosan Roshi.

I was initiated as an “eclectic shaman” before my full conversion to Buddhism and do have  some experience in altered states of consciousness and magic(k)al theory.

I’m a father, a husband, a composer, and sometimes writer. I’ve even been called a philosopher once. :)

Am I a Jedi? Hmm that is a difficult question. If there is such a thing as a secular Jedi, then I may fit the bill. Probably the best way to explain my worldview is that I trust the experience but doubt the explanations.

Why am I here? I like meeting interesting people. I enjoy watching this particular path develop, and if I get the chance to help out an old friend or some new friends…well that is a good thing too. :)

Enough of my rambling.

R

Jax
    Keymaster