• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    jdmcowan
    Participant

I have been hanging around for a while and even posted a couple times last year, but I never introduced myself or seriously looked at the training available.  Now, returning from The Gathering, I am energized about making my Jedi training a little more focused.

I am 40 years old and a podiatrist by profession.  I am a healer and a teacher by inclination.  I have studied aspects of spiritual and physical development since a very young age and Jedi Realism seems to do a better job of bringing it all together than any one path I’ve examined before (and throws in lightsabers to boot).  Though much of my previous studies have been from a scientific/practical standpoint.

For my current physical development I study a family group of arts with a sensei in Japan which includes kenjutsu (sword) and jujutsu (grappling).  I am also currently studying Aikido (a standing Japanese grappling art) and Kyudo (Japanese long bow archery) in Chicago.  My sensei in these arts all focus on improving your calmness and control over your strength or toughness.

Academically my main extracurricular study is that I am trying to learn the Japanese language.  I am teaching myself from a collection of materials.  I consider myself to be an amateur linguist.  I have studied many languages, though I would only consider myself fluent in English and Spanish at the moment.  However, I am decently conversant in French and Klingon.  My favorite language is probably Gaelic (that would be the Scottish variety, not Irish), but it has had to take a back seat to the desire to speak with my sensei in his first language.

In addition to all that, I am very active in my church.  I am an ordained elder and a representative to the local church government.  I am a Sunday School teacher and occasionally an adult bible study leader and preacher.