• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Kai-An
    Participant

http://www.dayofsilence.org/

Much love,
    Kai-An

Jax
    Keymaster

You’re in california, right Kai-an?  How is the day of silence handled in your school?  Do people cause problems?  Do people actually talk about the issues?  You have no idea how different things are in high school now even from when I graduated 10 years ago.  It’s amazing!

Kai-An
    Participant

We just started a GSA at our school and we’ve faced some problems. Although the administration says that they’re fine with it and that there is no prejudice, they have us take down the statistics we’ve posted or the discussions on the bulletin board about Bisexuality when the board of trustees comes. They try to hide us away or limit our mobility, but we’re working through that, and I think we’ll be fine once the club really gets settled.

The day of silence is handled pretty well, although I have to keep explaining to people what it is by writing it on the board, but people don’t cause problems. The teachers are very understanding and don’t require you to speak. The GSA debreifed the day afterwards and we think it went pretty well, although once again the administration didn’t allow us to publicize the event. We’ll get it together better for next year. ^_^

Much love,
    Kai-An

Hybrid Dawn
    Participant

I tried to get a day of silence set up at my school but sadly it was clashing with the student council elections that I was also a part of. Administration said it would be far too difficult to get people involved if their were a series of speeches throughout the day, I also wouldn’t have been able to participate because I myself had to give a speech.

I did take time at an after school event where most of the student body was to adress the issue and my band and I played a song dedicated to all those who dealt with adversity due to their sexual orientation.