• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Yoko
    Participant

Now I’m sure this has probably been brought up before, but to be honest this is starting to get really annoying.

As I’m sure a few of you know, I am currently in my final year of school.

Now when ever I’m looking at this site in my free time, or maybe having a read of the introduction course. People are always coming up to me and asking what I am doing. I tell them what I’m doing, and by doing so I get responses such as “Are you serious?””Nerd” or even just plain laughter. Evan by explaining to them that Jediism is more a way of life, they will still not understand and just take it is a big joke.
    This concerns me. I believe that we should let the public know what it means to be a Jedi and that it isn’t just a bunch of geeks taking a movie too seriously (or role-playing) I reckon that once people know this they may start to understand what being a Jedi is.
    Now I know it’s hard to let the whole world know, but if all of us just the time to explain it to someone who is asking then the word will spread.
    Thanks for reading
    Yoko    :yoda

inari
    Participant

Perhaps you could take the pejorative ‘geek’ and look at it more closely. Names, especially in school, are used to get a reaction, to hurt you. These names are called by people who think they are pretty good, but once out in the ‘real world’ it becomes pretty obvious pretty quickly that they usually aren’t.  I have often been called a geek and I embrace my geekiness. It also has nothing to do with being a Jedi.

Most of the people I know who are ‘geeks’ are in well paying, highly successful jobs that incorporate a good bit of traveling around the world (I worked in information technology until a couple of years ago).  That doesn’t sound so bad does it?