• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

Greetings all!

I am new to the Institute, though not brand new to the path.  I’m 42, married (to Stormeye, who just introduced himself), and have three children: a grown step-daughter, a college-aged son, and a daughter who is a high school senior. I have been an avid martial artist since I was 16 years old, first studying karate and then I went on to supplement my karate training with Tai Chi, Aikido, Pa Gua, Hsing I, and Kali.  The internal arts of Tai Chi and Aikido have had a profound spiritual impact on me as it was in these practices that I first began to sense the Force (Chi/Ki) flowing through me and learned how to blend my energy with that of my opponent and with the world at large.

As for Jedi in specific, I was nine when the very first movie came out and captured my imagination.  While I have formally studied both Buddhism and Taoism, I keep coming back to Jedi as the Eastern paths have such strong cultural overlays that they have always felt a little foreign to me.  As Jediism arises from a Western myth, I feel more at home with it.

Tercenya

Jax
    Keymaster

Welcome.  I also received your application (right around the same time as Stormeye’s so I wondered about the connection.  I hope you’ll jump into discussions as well and I look forward to seeing your responses to the intro course!

Jedi_Phoenix

Welcome to the path, I hope this continues to help you develop your understanding of the Force and of yourself!!!

If you have any questions please let us know,
    Phoenix

Kol Drake

:welcome

Welcome and I think you hit one of many ‘nails’ on the head about Eastern concepts being a little too well….  it is why many look at the Jedi path for wanting something a bit more comfortable.

Should be interesting to read your posts since you have a great martial and philisophical background.  :yoda

Anonymous