• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Kate Solusar
    Participant

Hello to all,

I am Kate Solusar, a longtime member of Ashla Knights.  This is one of the sites I visit regularly and last week saw a post that I really wanted to respond to, so I registered.  I recognize a number of people here from various places and just wanted to say hi.

As for my background,  I am a high school history teacher by profession and currently am primarily a stay-at-home parent to two sons, 8 and 6 and serve as service coordinator and advocate for my youngest son, who has autism.  I am an academy instructor at Ashla, and work with a number of academy students in that role.  Beyond that, I’ve been happily married for 10 years and stumbled upon Jedi Realism because of the interests of my oldest in Star Wars.  It has been a good fit and challenge for me as I continue to study, train, and live this path.  There is a significant minority in the Autism community who find themselves really identifying and using the philosophy of the Jedi and also of Star Trek in their lives.  I find myself one of them as I strive to parent my child and find other means to connect with and understand my son as he is.  For me the Jedi path has been a means of that, and much, much more.  I look forward to walking this way with this community as well.

Best regards,

Kate Solusar

Jax
    Keymaster

Welcome!  I hadn’t realized there was a group in the autism community that was looking toward star wars and star trek, but it certainly makes sense.  Perhaps you could share some of that perspective, or provide other general information about this.  Have they created their own views, or do they visit other sites/perspectives?

Thanks for sharing!

Kate Solusar
    Participant