• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Jax
    Keymaster

I’ve finally decided this is as good a place as any.  This weekend I’ll be planting my container garden where I attempt to grow fresh food for us to enjoy this summer.  I’m not very good at it, especially the watering portion, but I keep trying.  This year I’ll have:
    3 varieties of tomatoes (5 plants total)
    fairytale eggplant (2 plants)
    basil (3 plants in one pot that smell really good)
    chives
    strawberries
    mojito mint (for tea)
    cilantro (for fresh pico de gallo)

I want more but only have so much space.  If I find I have more room I’ll see if I can grow a few other things.  However, everything has to be growable in a 5 gallon bucket or smaller which restricts my options.  Also, I find myself unable to focus well enough to grow from seed.  I need a garden coach :-)

Is anyone else growing plants this year for food?  What are you growing?

Memnoich
    Participant

Strawberries, Tomatoes, Gonna try some potatoes, Green beans, onions, Squash,I have wild garlic and mint that comes back every year. My G/F wants to do watermelons

Jax
    Keymaster

Are you planting in the ground? 

Jedi_Phoenix
    Quote:
    mojito mint (for tea)

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Jax
    Keymaster

I’m sure they can be used for…other…drinks, but we’ll use them for tea. Or cooking? I don’t know how to use mint in food, but that’ll be for Carrie to work with. lol

Kol Drake

Just got back from two months being ‘away’… and winter ran into spring into an overgrown backyard of semi grass and some kind of sprawling, flowering weedy stuff.  Unpacking tonight so I can get cracking on …. either hand weeding an entire yard or figuring out what will kill this stuff without killing all the other stuff that SHOULD be in the yard.  (( Think the squirrels were overly active in burying ‘stuff’ seeds… grrrrr ))

Jax
    Keymaster

lol the yard strikes back!  Good luck with that.