Wildlife Rehabilitation

• Jedi Travis
  • Jedi Travis's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 8

Jedi Travis created the topic: Wildlife Rehabilitation

Greetings everyone!

It's been awhile since I've been around the forums here, and I wanted to reestablish my presence here with a post! I wanted to write about something I have been doing lately that has helped me along in various aspects of my Jedi training, and is a green activity.

I've recently begun volunteering at the local Wildlife Rehabilitation Center. My favorite part of biology is Wildlife Biology, and even further, Ornithology (or the study of Birds).

I've had some of the most amazing experiences of my life caring for the various predators there, but my heart is with the raptors. Caring for predatory birds can be a nerve-wracking experience, but with the proper mindset, it can be very rewarding.

First, when caring for raptors, you must remain calm. Many of the birds at the center will never fly again, so we walk them on our hands/arms. The slightest fidget, a sudden jerking motion, and you could have a very upset bird on your hands (literally). When applied to one's training as a Jedi, this is a great exercise in control over one's emotions as well as maintaining near-meditative calmness. Maintaining that calm and exuding an aura of peace will make handling the birds much easier for you.