Hello

• Finn Daffron
  • Finn Daffron's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 5

Finn Daffron created the topic: Hello

Greetings. My name is Finn Daffron and I am relatively new to the formal Jedi community, but I've been interested in the real life applications of the Force and the Jedi Code since I first saw A New Hope at age six or seven (not in the theater, I was born in 1999). When the adults told me that the Force wasn't real, I listened instead to Obi-Wan and Yoda's advice to trust in my feelings that said, "don't listen to them." About two or three years ago, I started searching for groups. I found TOTJO, which I am also registered on their forums, but they are too much like a Christian church for my tastes. I also found Real Jedi Knights, but they remind me too much of the Post-Ruusan Reformation Jedi Order (you know, the one you see in the prequels). I think they want to base themselves off of that philosophy, but in my opinion, the Post-Ruusan Jedi Order was one of the most flawed systems in all of Star Wars. It was what allowed Anakin to turn to the Dark Side. But this forum reminds me more of the Old Republic Jedi before the Ruusan Reformations (for example the Knights of the Old Republic Games), who I thought were a really good basis for a philosophy. The difference between the two being that before the Ruusan Reformations, Jedi had the freedom to have a life and study the Force outside of their assigned Jedi duties. However, after the Ruusan Reformations, Jedi were recalled to the Temple and forced to live a rigid, regimented live with little freedom. I could write a book on this, but I'm not going to because this is an introduction. Another good Jedi philosophy is that of Luke Skywalker's New Jedi Order (Legends), but I just don't know as much about it as the Old, pre-Ruusan Jedi Order.